Meet The 7 Liverpool Players Nominated In The 2019 Ballon D’or Award


Virgil van Dijk is one of seven Liverpool players named on the 30-man waitlist for the 2019 Ballon d’Or.

Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, Roberto Firmino, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Georginio Wijnaldum and Alisson have likewise been browsed the Reds.

Five Manchester City players – Raheem Sterling, Riyad Mahrez, Kevin de Bruyne, Bernardo Silva and Sergio Aguero – are on the rundown.

Tottenham’s Hugo Lloris and Son Heung-min are likewise included.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, who have won the honor multiple times between them, again highlight among the contenders.

Eminent Omissions

The absolute greatest oversights from the rundown incorporate Paris St-Germain and Brazil forward Neymar, Manchester United and France midfielder Paul Pogba and Tottenham and England striker Harry Kane.

Liverpool overwhelm players from one club

Champions League victors Liverpool have the most players on the rundown from one club with Premier League champions Manchester City the following most noteworthy number with five.

Barcelona have four players; just as Messi, Frenkie de Jong, Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Antoine Griezmann highlight in the rundown.

Weapons store forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is likewise included, as is Real Madrid’s previous Chelsea playmaker Eden Hazard.

When do we discover who has won?

The Ballon d’Or champ will be named in Paris on 2 December.

Luka Modric won in 2018 to end the seven-year predominance of the honor by Messi and Ronaldo.

Van Dijk is among the top picks to win the current year’s honor subsequent to being named Uefa Player of the Year in August.

What are the game’s three principle player grants?

A form of the Ballon d’Or has been granted by France Football magazine since 1956, yet was converged with Fifa’s World Footballer of the Year grant from 2010 to 2015.

Notwithstanding, Fifa finished its relationship with the Ballon d’Or the next year to set up its own – the Best Fifa Player grant.

In September, Messi won that grant in the fourth release of the Best Fifa Football Awards.

In the mean time, Uefa’s Player of the Year grant has been going since 1998 and was recently called Uefa Club Footballer of the Year (1998-2010) and Uefa Best Player in Europe (2011-16).

Best guardian grant

Four Premier League-based guardians are in the running for the Yashin Award – named after Russia legend Lev Yashin – the main goalkeeper to have won the Ballon d’Or itself.

They are Liverpool’s Alisson, Ederson of Manchester City, Chelsea’s Kepa Arrizabalaga and Tottenham’s Lloris.

Likewise selected are Bayern Munich’s Manuel Neuer, Inter Milan’s Samir Handanovic, Atletico Madrid’s Jan Oblak, Ajax’s Andre Onana, Juventus’ Wojciech Szczesny and Ter Stegen of Barcelona.

Who are the youthful player up-and-comers?

The Kopa Trophy is exhibited to the best performing player younger than 21 and is chosen by previous Ballon d’Or victors. Like the fundamental Ballon d’Or prize, it is likewise sorted out by France Football.

It is available to the individuals who play outside Europe and was first granted in 2018, with Paris St-Germain and France World Cup-winning forward Kylian Mbappe the reasonable victor.

The current year’s candidates incorporate Borussia Dortmund and England winger Jadon Sancho, 19, Everton and Italy forward Moise Kean, 19, and Arsenal’s French midfielder Matteo Guendouzi, 20.

Others in the running are Juventus’ Netherlands safeguard Matthijs de Ligt, 20, Real Madrid’s Brazil forward Vinicius Junior, 19, Valladolid and Ukraine attendant Andriy Lunin , 20, Bayer Leverkusen and Germany midfielder Kai Havertz, 20, Atletico Madrid and Portugal forward Joao Felix, 19, Villarreal and Nigeria winger Samuel Chukwueze, 20, and Valencia and South Korea forward Lee Kang-in, 18.

List of nominees for the main award:

  1. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
  2. Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
  3. Son Heung-min (Tottenham)
  4. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  5. Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)
  6. Alisson (Liverpool)
  7. Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus)
  8. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  9. Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)
  10. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)
  11. Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona)
  12. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)
  13. Dusan Tadic (Ajax)
  14. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
  15. Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain)
  16. Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  17. Donny van de Beek (Ajax)
  18. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal)
  19. Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona)
  20. Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
  21. Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
  22. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)
  23. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)
  24. Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli)
  25. Antoine Griezmann (Barcelona)
  26. Mohammed Salah (Liverpool)
  27. Eden Hazard (Real Madrid)
  28. Marquinhos (Paris St-Germain)
  29. Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
  30. Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here